François-Xavier Roth and Isabelle Faust

Claude Debussy and Paul Dukas admired Richard Wagner’s music in their youth, resulting in a blend of French flavour and Wagnerian echoes in their early works. François-­Xavier Roth demonstrates that with Debussy’s mystical cantata La Damoiselle élue and Dukas’s overture Polyeucte. We also hear Dukas’s most popular symphonic poem, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. Soloist for the concert is Isabelle Faust, who performs Béla Bartók’s Violin Concerto No. 2.

Berliner Philharmoniker

François-Xavier Roth

Isabelle Faust

Anna Prohaska

Adèle Charvet

Ladies of the Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


François-Xavier Roth conductor
Paul Dukas composer
Béla Bartók composer
Isabelle Faust violin
Claude Debussy composer
Anna Prohaska soprano
Adèle Charvet mezzo-soprano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy