François-Xavier Roth and Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Pierre-Laurent Aimard is one of the foremost musicians of our time – a “thinker at the piano” (The Washington Post). Together with François-Xavier Roth, general music director of the city of Cologne, he performs Béla Bartók’s Third Piano Concerto, a work permeated by a soft parlando tone and gentle melancholy. The other works on the programme are wonderfully energetic – albeit in very different ways: Joseph Haydn’s Fire Symphony, and Arcana by Edgard Varèse.

Berliner Philharmoniker

François-Xavier Roth

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


François-Xavier Roth conductor
Joseph Haydn composer
Béla Bartók composer
Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano
Edgard Varèse composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy