Alan Gilbert and Frank Peter Zimmermann

Modern music of the fleet-footed type characterises the beginning of this concert: with Béla Bartók’s youthfully animated Second Violin Concerto and the ingenious, jazzy minimalism of John Adams. The main symphonic work of the evening is a contrast: Tchaikovsky’s Fourth with its powerful world-weary sounds. Alan Gilbert conducts, and the soloist is the violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert

Frank Peter Zimmermann

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy