Kirill Petrenko conducts Sibelius, Janáček, Vasks and Silvestrov

In this concert, chief conductor Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker presented works by composers from Ukraine, Finland, the Czech Republic and Latvia. The programme, which was also performed at the Europakonzert in Liepāja, Latvia, reflects on the war in Ukraine in string compositions by Pēteris Vasks and Valentin Silvestrov. As an expression of European solidarity, the concert ends with Jean Sibelius’s Finlandia, whose radiant brass sounds symbolise the hope for freedom and self-determination.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Pēteris Vasks composer
Valentin Silvestrov composer
Leoš Janáček composer
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy