Philharmonic chamber music: Of pilgrims, lovers and child prodigies

A man, a woman and a love that breaks conventions: Richard Dehmel’s poem Verklärte Nacht inspired Arnold Schoenberg to write his string sextet of the same name. That work in turn inspired the 17-year-old Erich Korngold to write his expressive string sextet. In an arrangement for string quartet, Franz Liszt’s Angelus! Prière aux anges gardiens from his piano cycle Années de pèlerinage testifies to his maturity.

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Christoph von der Nahmer

Cornelia Gartemann

Julia Gartemann

Bruno Delepelaire

Martin von der Nahmer

Solène Kermarrec

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH



Franz Liszt composer
Cornelia Gartemann violin
Julia Gartemann viola
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Martin von der Nahmer viola
Solène Kermarrec cello
Erich Wolfgang Korngold composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy