Donald Runnicles conducts works by Strauss and Elgar

Both works in this concert with Donald Runnicles represent the brilliance of the art of orchestration at the turn of the 19th to the 20th century – and yet they could be hardly more contrasting in terms of expression and attitude. For while Edward Elgar’s First Symphony impresses with its nobility and sensitivity, Richard Strauss’s Don Quixote is, not least, a biting satire. The soloists are the cellist Ludwig Quandt and the violist Amihai Grosz.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Donald Runnicles

Amihai Grosz

Ludwig Quandt

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Donald Runnicles conductor
Richard Strauss composer
Amihai Grosz viola
Ludwig Quandt cello
Edward Elgar composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy