until 25 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

25 abr. 2009

Berliner Philharmoniker
Peter Eötvös

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Chorale Preludes “Komm, Gott, Schöpfer, Heiliger Geist” and “Schmücke Dich, o liebe Seele” (8 min.)

  • Richard Wagner
    Siegfried Idyll (20 min.)

  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann
    Requiem for a Young Poet (69 min.)

    Caroline Stein Soprano, Claudio Otelli Baritone, Michael Rotschopf Speaker, Thomas Wittmann Speaker, Rundfunkchor Berlin, James Wood Chorus Master, MDR Rundfunkchor Leipzig, Howard Arman Chorus Master, Philipp Ahmann Chorus Master, Celso Antunes Chorus Master, João Rafael Sound Direction

  • free

    Entrevista con Peter Eötvös (12 min.)

This death is dismal and forlorn. Bidding farewell at the force of one’s own will, a decision established in the state of pure desperation. As was the case with Bernd Alois Zimmermann, who committed suicide himself shortly after completing his Requiem for a Young Poet – therefore choosing the same path as those poets his work refers to. One of them is well known, his poems are familiar to many: Vladimir Mayakovsky lent his voice to the young generation at the outbreak of the Russian Revolution and was for some time considered to be the Soviet poet par excellence. The second is no longer widely known, it is Sergei Yesenin, the great Russian folk poet, who slit his wrists and then hanged himself in Leningrad in 1925. And oblivion starts becoming absolute with the third poet (and writer). And yet, it is words by the Austrian Konrad Bayer, member of the so-called Vienna Group, that stand at the centre of Zimmermann’s work. Words exemplifying the unavailing battle, which the now practically nameless poet led throughout his short life: “frage: worauf hoffen? / es gibt nichts was zu erreichen wäre, außer dem tod.” (question: what to hope for? / there is nothing attainable within reach, apart from death.)

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free