Peter Eötvös conducts the premiere of his Cello Concerto Grosso

For Peter Eötvös, composing is “the enchantment of the listener through sound”. Here, the composer presented one result of this concept with the premiere of his Cello Concerto Grosso. In addition, there is tempestuous music and psychological drama in the second half of the concert, when Eötvös conducts the Coronation and Death Scenes from Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunov. The soloists are the cellist Miklós Perényi and the bass-baritone Ferruccio Furlanetto.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Peter Eötvös

Miklós Perényi

Slovak Philharmonic Choir

Ferruccio Furlanetto

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Peter Eötvös composer, conductor
Modest Mussorgsky composer
Miklós Perényi cello
Igor Stravinsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy