08 Sep 2019

Berliner Philharmoniker
Peter Eötvös

Isabelle Faust

  • Peter Eötvös
    Alhambra, Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 3 – commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation together with the Granada Festival, Orchestre de Paris and BBC Proms German Première (25 min.)

    Isabelle Faust violin

  • George Rochberg
    Caprice Variations: No. 50, Fantasy (4 min.)

    Isabelle Faust violin

  • Iannis Xenakis
    Shaar for large String Orchestra (18 min.)

  • Edgard Varèse
    Amériques (1st Version from 1918−1922, revised 1997) (28 min.)

  • free

    Isabelle Faust on Peter Eötvös’s Violin Concerto No. 3 (17 min.)

In the past, “Japanese, French, German, English and American culture” have inspired Peter Eötvös, born in Hungary in 1944, to musical works, as he has stated. In recent years, the compositional cosmopolitan has placed more focus on yet another cultural sphere: the music traditions of the Basque Country and of Spain. Eötvösʼs third violin concerto was commissioned by the International Dance and Music Festival in Granada, the Berlin Philharmonic Foundation, the BBC Proms and the Orchestre de Paris. It is inspired by the architecture and history of the Alhambra – as Eötvös writes, the “intersection of Spanish and Arabic culture”.

Violinist Isabelle Faust, soloist at the premiere in Granada in July 2019 and, in addition to conductor Pablo Heras-Casado, one of the work’s dedicatees, has been acclaimed around the world for the past quarter of a century. At this concert, she will present the German premiere of Eötvös’s third violin concerto Alhambra in Berlin, conducted by the composer.

The second half of the concert is no less international: in 1983 the Greek composer Iannis Xenakis composed the string piece Shaar based on Old Testament ideas as a commission for an Israeli festival of contemporary music. In contrast, Amériques for large orchestra was the first composition that Edgard Varèse, born in Paris in 1883, wrote in the US after emigrating there in 1915. The work was premiered in 1926 by the Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Leopold Stokowski. According to Varèse, the composition depicts journeys of discovery to “new worlds on earth, in the sky, or in the minds of men”.

musikfest berlinIn co-operation with Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist