Simon Rattle’s inaugural concert from 2002 with Mahler’s Fifth Symphony

For many music fans, it is the beginning of a new era when a new chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker takes up office. This was also the case in 2002 when, to tumultuous applause, Simon Rattle gave his first concert as Claudio Abbado’s successor. The programme included an appropriately representative work: Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony with its infinite variety of worlds of expression and timbre. Plus Thomas Adès’s violently contrasting and percussive Asyla.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2002 EuroArts Music International


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Thomas Adès composer, conductor
Gustav Mahler composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy