Yutaka Sado conducts Shostakovitch and Takemitsu

When Yutaka Sado was in sixth grade at school and was asked what his life’s ambition was, he answered: “I want to conduct the Berliner Philharmoniker one day.” In May 2011, Sado’s dream came true when he made his debut with the orchestra. The programme included Tōru Takemitsu’s meditative From me flows what you call time and Dmitri Shostakovitch’s Fifth Symphony with its constant shifts between celebration and parody.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yutaka Sado

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Yutaka Sado conductor
Franz Schindlbeck percussion
Simon Rössler Percussion, conductor
Raphael Haeger Percussion, conductor
Wieland Welzel timpani
Jan Schlichte percussion
Tōru Takemitsu composer
Dmitri Shostakovich composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy