Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Karl-Heinz Steffens conducts Beethoven, Zimmermann and Schubert


Berliner Philharmoniker
Karl-Heinz Steffens

Ludwig Quandt

  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Leonore Overture No. 3 (00:17:17)

  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann
    Symphony in one movement (2nd version from 1953) (00:16:57)

  • Franz Schubert
    Overture of the incidental music to Rosamunde (00:12:37)

  • Bernd Alois Zimmermann
    Canto di speranza, Cantata for cello and small orchestra (00:20:28)

    Ludwig Quandt Cello

  • Franz Schubert
    Symphony No. 3 in D major (00:28:24)

  • free

    Karl-Heinz Steffens in conversation with Walter Seyfarth (00:17:54)

“The Berliner Philharmoniker has lost one of its most important instrumentalists – the music world has gained an enterprising maestro,” wrote the Tagesspiegel, when Karl-Heinz Steffens gave up his position as principal clarinetist of the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2007. In the same season he took up his new post as music director of the Staatskapelle Halle and as artistic director of the Halle opera house.

A year later he made his debut with the opera Fidelio at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin, and since the 2009/2010 season, Karl-Heinz Steffens has also held the position of chief conductor of the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz. He has been invited to conduct many renowned orchestras, and he now makes his debut with his old orchestra, the Berliner Philharmoniker.

In addition to Beethoven’s Leonore Overture No. 3 and the overture from Franz Schubert’s incidental music for the romantic drama Rosamunde, Princess of Cyprus by Helmina of Chézy, the programme also includes Schubert’s Third Symphony – “a work of youth ... and gleefully raucous vigour that stirs and moves without concerning itself with objective or success” (Eduard Hanslick). With Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Symphony in one movement and his Canto di Speranza for cello and orchestra, Karl-Heinz Steffens also conducts two highly expressive works of the 20th century with Ludwig Quandt, 1st principal cellist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, as the soloist.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free