Antoni Wit conducts Penderecki’s St Luke Passion


Berliner Philharmoniker
Antoni Wit

Christiane Libor, Stephan Klemm, Jarosław Bręk, Daniel Olbrychski

  • Krzysztof Penderecki
    St Luke Passion - Passio et mors Domini nostri Jesu Christi secundum Lucam (01:23:11)

    Christiane Libor Soprano, Stephan Klemm Bass, Jarosław Bręk Baritone, Warsaw Philharmonic Choir, Daniel Olbrychski Speaker, Knaben- und Herrenchor der Fryderyk Chopin Music University in Warschau, Henryk Wojnarowski Chorus Master, Krzysztof Kusiel-Moroz Chorus Master

  • free

    Antoni Wit in conversation with Krzysztof Polonek (00:16:17)

Success can be dangerous – at least for “new” music. Krzysztof Penderecki, for example, came under fire because his works, more than those of most other contemporary composers, succeeded in finding a niche in international concert programmes. Like his Polish colleague Witold Lutosławski, the quest for an emotionally expressive style was and remains one of his central concerns: “As a composer”, he said in a 1987 Spiegel interview, “I reject the constantly increasing complexity of music.”

Thus Penderecki, born in Dębica in 1933, furnished his frequently apocalyptic musical visions with the timelessness of tonal contexts. The most prominent example of this stylistic phase is his St. Luke Passion (“Passio et mors Domini Nostri Jesu Christi secundum Lucam”), premiered on 30 March 1966 in Münster Cathedral, whose immense success brought genuine popularity to the then 32-year-old composer.

Antoni Wit, who along with his training as a conductor at one time also studied composition with Penderecki, is regarded as one of the leading authorities on his former teacher’s music. In the Philharmonie, together with an ensemble of internationally renowned soloists, he will present Penderecki’s deeply moving work, which concludes with an overwhelming choral build-up in radiant E major to express its message of “hope” and “redemption”.


Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free