An American evening with Ingo Metzmacher and Pierre-Laurent Aimard

In this concert, Ingo Metzmacher presents the many facets of the music of the United States – such as the big band sound in Gershwin’s Cuban Overtureand the modernity of George Antheil’s Jazz Symphony. The main works of the concert are Charles Ives’s enigmatic Fourth Symphony and the Symphonic Dances from Bernstein’s West Side Story – the perfect example of the American fusion of musical innovation and explosive vitality.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Ingo Metzmacher

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Ingo Metzmacher conductor
George Gershwin composer
Charles Ives composer
Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano
George Antheil composer
Leonard Bernstein composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy