Pierre Boulez and Pierre-Laurent Aimard perform works by Ravel, Bartók and Boulez


Berliner Philharmoniker
Pierre Boulez

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

  • Béla Bartók
    Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, Sz 106 (00:35:40)

  • Maurice Ravel
    Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in D major for the left hand (00:27:22)

    Pierre-Laurent Aimard Piano

  • Pierre Boulez
    Notations for orchestra: I–IV, VII (00:20:54)

  • free

    Pierre Boulez y Pierre-Laurent Aimard conversan con Christoph Franke (00:16:19)

These evenings were initially planned as being completely French, presenting only the “crème de la crème” from the neighbouring country. However, then the conductor Pierre Boulez found that a touch of Hungary would round everything off perfectly. An excellent idea, since it brings two so-called key works from the first half of the 20th century together face to face: Béla Bartók’s Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, one of the great composer’s most masterly creations, and the Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, which Maurice Ravel initially composed for Paul Wittgenstein, the fantastic pianist who lost his right arm in the First World War, a work which presents a challenge even to pianists performing with both hands. Boulez juxtaposes this with one of his own works, rightly titled “work in progress”. The composer has been perfecting his Notations for decades, and he will probably continue refining his perhaps most significant opus for what seems like eternity.

Deutsche GrammophonPierre-Laurent Aimard appears in the Digital Concert Hall courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free