Semyon Bychkov conducts Strauss and Schubert

In this concert from June 2014, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Semyon Bychkov commemorate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Richard Strauss. With Bruno Delepelaire and Máté Szűcs as the soloists, the programme included the composer’s Don Quixote, a work regarded as the epitome of symphonic tragi-comedy. Contrasting emotions were also in evidence in Franz Schubert’s “Great” Symphony, which constantly shifts in its expression of beauty and the abyss.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Semyon Bychkov

Máté Szűcs

Bruno Delepelaire

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Semyon Bychkov conductor
Richard Strauss composer
Máté Szűcs viola
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Franz Schubert composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy