Zubin Mehta and Anoushka Shankar

The Indian sitar player Ravi Shankar was one of the great musical intermediaries between East and West. His work Raga-Mālā links the art of sitar improvisation with the performed playing of a classical concert: an exciting journey into a faraway world. The soloist in this performance from 2017 is the composer’s daughter Anoushka Shankar; the conductor is Zubin Mehta, who was his friend for many years. Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra concludes the evening.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta

Anoushka Shankar

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy