“Welcome among us”: Concert for refugees and helpers

01 Mar 2016

Staatskapelle Berlin, Daniel Barenboim, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Iván Fischer, Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle

  • free

    Welcome message from Martin Hoffmann (8 min.)

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 20 in D minor, K. 466 (36 min.)

    Staatskapelle Berlin, Daniel Barenboim Conductor and Piano

  • free

    Sergei Prokofiev
    Symphony No. 1 in D major, op. 25 “Classique” (16 min.)

    Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Iván Fischer Conductor

  • free

    Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 7 in A major, op. 92: 2. Allegretto · 4. Allegro con brio (22 min.)

    Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

  • free

    Statements by Daniel Barenboim, Iván Fischer and Sir Simon Rattle (6 min.)

Under the banner “Welcome among us”, the Staatskapelle Berlin, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, the Berliner Philharmoniker and their chief conductors welcomed people who have fled to Germany to escape war and distress in their home countries. Many full-time and volunteer aid workers who help the refugees when they arrive here were also welcome guests. The programme of the evening ranged from Mozart’s darkly-hued D minor Piano Concerto, in which Daniel Barenboim impressed the audience as both soloist and conductor, to Sergei Prokofiev’s “Classical Symphony”, conducted with humour and elegance by Iván Fischer, to two movements of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony: the melancholy Allegretto and the energetic finale performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle. It was a moving, unforgettable evening for everyone involved, and the oft-quoted, miraculous ability of music to build bridges between people and cultures was impressively evident. 

The concert was held under the patronage of Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel.

Watch now