Claudio Abbado and Daniel Barenboim with Beethoven and Brahms

With spirited determination, Daniel Barenboim thrilled audiences in 1994 as the soloist in Johannes Brahms’s Second Piano Concerto. The Berliner Philharmoniker played under the baton of their then chief conductor Claudio Abbado. Abbado’s interpretation of Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony is characterised by elegant lightness. This concert can now be enjoyed for the first time in the archive of the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Daniel Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 1994 TV Man Union, Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Johannes Brahms composer
Daniel Barenboim conductor, piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy