Kirill Petrenko and Daniel Barenboim

Kirill Petrenko, the new man at the head of the Berliner Philharmoniker, encounters a decades-long friend of the orchestra: Daniel Barenboim. Together, they present Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3, whose appeal lies in its self-assured showmanship and distinctive C Minor colouring. The music of Josef Suk, which has received far too little attention, is also a matter close to Kirill Petrenko’s heart. Here we hear his Second Symphony, an expressive work full of pain and sonority.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Daniel Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Daniel Barenboim Conductor, piano
Franz Schubert composer
Josef Suk composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy