UNICEF concert for Japan with Simon Rattle and Daniel Barenboim


Daniel Barenboim, Staatskapelle Berlin, Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle

  • Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    Symphony No. 6 in B minor »Pathétique« (00:53:55)

    Daniel Barenboim Conductor, Staatskapelle Berlin

  • Johannes Brahms
    Symphony No. 4 in E minor (00:48:36)

    Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

  • free

    Christian Schneider (UNICEF Germany) in conversation with Andreas Wittmann (00:11:15)

Both the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Staatskapelle Berlin have been regular guests in Japan for many years and have many friends among the country's music enthusiasts. Following the devastating earthquake of 11 March, the two orchestras gave a joint benefit concert for the victims, with Sir Simon Rattle and Daniel Barenboim conducting.

All proceeds from the concert and from the live webcast in the Digital Concert Hall go to the UNICEF emergency fund in Japan. As Ken Hayami from the Japan Committee for UNICEF said, following the earthquake, the tsunami and the nuclear power plant disaster, UNICEF's top priority is to help traumatised children in the affected areas as quickly and effectively as possible. With this concert, the musicians would like to help them in their efforts.

To open the concert, the Staatskapelle Berlin and Daniel Barenboim perform Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony "Pathétique". In addition to its concert activities, the Staatskapelle, whose history goes back to 1570, is the orchestra of the Staatsoper in Berlin. Daniel Barenboim has been general music director of the Staatskapelle since 1992. The Berliner Philharmoniker and chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle end the concert with a performance of Brahms's Fourth Symphony. The orchestra has been an international UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador since 2007.

To donate to UNICEF, please visit www.supportunicef.org

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free