Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Nicola Luisotti conducts Poulenc’s Gloria and Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony


Berliner Philharmoniker
Nicola Luisotti

Emmanuel Pahud, Rundfunkchor Berlin, Leah Crocetto

  • Claude Debussy
    Syrinx for solo flute (00:05:26)

    Emmanuel Pahud Flute

  • Francis Poulenc
    Gloria for solo soprano, chorus and orchestra (00:31:00)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, Leah Crocetto Soprano, Robin Gritton Chorus Master

  • Luciano Berio
    Sequenza I for flute (00:08:21)

    Emmanuel Pahud Flute

  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Symphony No. 5 in B flat major (00:51:02)

  • free

    Nicola Luisotti in conversation with Emmanuel Pahud (00:16:53)

Composing works which were both modern and understandable – that was the supreme discipline for not just a few composers of the 20th century. Nicola Luisotti, music director of San Francisco Opera, presents works which realize this concept most beautifully with the Berliner Philharmoniker: the Gloria by Francis Poulenc and Sergei Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony. The concert also includes works for solo flute by Claude Debussy and Luciano Berio.

Francis Poulenc was one of the most important figures of the Les six, a group who committed themselves to rectilinear, light and intellectually stimulating music, in which sounds from everyday life were also to find a place. This ideal is also evident in Poulenc’s Gloria. Meditative prayer here goes hand in hand with an exuberant joy in the glory of God. As a result, this music makes the judgment of a contemporary critic quite plausible, describing Poulenc as “half monk, half thug”.

Sergei Prokofiev considered it a prerequisite of great music that it be “simple and comprehensible, without being repetitive or trivial”. The Fifth Symphony can be seen as a culmination of this idea, and is one of Prokofiev’s most frequently performed works. It is catchy, raw and distinctive – while below the surface, extremely sophisticated.

The two flute pieces in the programme have a complex structure on the one hand and, on the other hand, convey the impression of spontaneous improvisation. The soloist is the Philharmoniker’s principal flute Emmanuel Pahud, described by the BBC as “one of the world’s leading flautists, and an exceptionally charismatic ambassador for his instrument.”

EMIEmmanuel Pahud appears by courtesy  of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free