Michael Barenboim’s and Vasily Petrenko’s debuts with the Berliner Philharmoniker

Schoenberg’s Violin Concerto demands everything from the soloist: tremendous interval leaps, awkward fingerings, breakneck tempos and richly nuanced expressiveness. Michael Barenboim presents all of this in his debut with the Philharmoniker. There are also two colourful works on the programme in which Ravel adapts the cultural heritage of other European countries: the Viennese Waltz in La Valse and an ancient love story in Daphnis et Chloé. Conductor is Vasily Petrenko, who also makes his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Vasily Petrenko

Michael Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Vasily Petrenko conductor
Franz Schubert composer
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Maurice Ravel composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy