Semyon Bychkov and Lisa Batiashvili perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto

11 Mar 2021

Berliner Philharmoniker
Semyon Bychkov

Lisa Batiashvili

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. 35 (36 min.)

    Lisa Batiashvili violin

  • Antonín Dvořák
    Symphony No. 7 in D minor, op. 70 (38 min.)

  • free

    Lisa Batiashvili in conversation with Albrecht Mayer (15 min.)

  • free

    Semyon Bychkov in conversation with Albrecht Mayer (24 min.)

With its its beguiling, heartfelt melodies, its captivating dance-like rhythms and its highly virtuosic solo part, Tchaikovsky’s opus 35 is considered the epitome of the Romantic violin concerto. Ideal for a violinist like Lisa Batiashvili, who – according to the Guardian – knows how to interpret this piece in an intense, radiant and heartfelt way. Semyon Bychkov, a long-standing associate of the Berliner Philharmoniker, also conducts Antonín Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist