Alan Gilbert and Lisa Batiashvili

Sergei Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 is a work of compelling, pure beauty, and for its tone, which both sings and speaks, Lisa Batiashvili is the ideal interpreter. Alan Gilbert, chief conductor designate of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, also presents Richard Strauss’s Symphonia domestica in which the composer portrays his family both humorously and musically. Gilbert also presents the European premiere of Metacosmos by the Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert

Lisa Batiashvili

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Alan Gilbert conductor
Anna Thorvaldsdóttir composer
Sergei Prokofiev composer
Lisa Batiashvili violin
Richard Strauss composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy