Simon Rattle conducts the completed Ninth Symphony by Anton Bruckner

Simon Rattle is certain that if Anton Bruckner had lived only two months longer, he would have been able to complete the finale of his Ninth Symphony. In a sensational concert in 2011, Rattle presented a reconstruction of “monolithic, threatening presence” (Gramophone magazine), based on Bruckner’s extensive sketches. As a central work of the Rattle era, the completed symphony can now be heard again.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Hans Abrahamsen composer
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy