Kirill Petrenko conducts Schoenberg

Kirill Petrenko devotes himself to two seminal works of the 20th century. Arnold Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1 marks a turning point, away from late Romanticism to a more modern musical language. His unfinished oratorio Jacob’s Ladder also demonstrates the expressive power that developed from this transition. The work is based on Jacob’s dream about the ladder to heaven that leads to God – a parable about the human search for spirituality.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Wolfgang Koch

Daniel Behle

Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke

Johannes Martin Kränzle

Gyula Orendt

Nicola Beller Carbone

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2024 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Wolfgang Koch baritone
Daniel Behle tenor
Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke tenor
Rundfunkchor Berlin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy