Kirill Petrenko conducts Stravinsky, Zimmermann and Rachmaninov

The music of the 20th century is often considered inaccessible. Kirill Petrenko shows how wrong this prejudice is with three works written between 1940 and 1950 which differently convey sensuousness and energy. We experience rhythmic power in Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements, the combination of innovation and Brazilian flair in Zimmermann’s Alagoana and finally, the voluptuous melancholy of Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Igor Stravinsky composer
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer
Sergei Rachmaninov composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy