Kirill Petrenko and András Schiff with works by Brahms and Suk

One of Kirill Petrenko’s priorities is to introduce the music of Josef Suk to a larger audience. At this concert, he presents the symphonic poem The Ripening, which combines late Romantic tonal splendour with modern harmony. Johannes Brahms was a supporter of Suk. We hear Brahms’s Second Piano Concerto, in which brusque force and tender feelings collide. The soloist is Sir András Schiff, a long-time partner of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Sir András Schiff

Ladies of the Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Johannes Brahms composer
Sir András Schiff piano
Josef Suk composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy