“The Golden Twenties”: Kirill Petrenko conducts Weill and Stravinsky

Kirill Petrenko brings the 1920s to life again with an early work by Kurt Weill. The influence of Liszt, Mahler and Strauss on Weill can be heard in his rarely performed Symphony in One Movement. The music is captivating, brash and brilliant, but also features delicate, chamber music-like passages. We also hear Stravinsky’s opera-oratorio Oedipus rex, composed in 1927 and set in ancient Greece. Its music is crystal-clear neoclassicism – how could it be otherwise?

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Michael Spyres

Ekaterina Semenchuk

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Kurt Weill composer
Igor Stravinsky composer
Michael Spyres tenor
Ekaterina Semenchuk mezzo-soprano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy