Paavo Järvi and Igor Levit perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5

Igor Levit describes Beethoven’s radiant E flat major concerto as a work that “makes you really happy”. Following Levit’s debut with the orchestra at the 2015 Easter Festival in Baden-Baden, he appeared for the first time with the Berliner Philharmoniker at the Philharmonie Berlin under the baton of Paavo Järvi. Another item on the programme is Prokofiev’s Symphony in E flat minor. Its opus number – a reference to Beethoven’s Piano Sonata op. 111 – reflects Prokofiev’s admiration for the First Viennese School composer.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi

Igor Levit

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy