Janine Jansen plays Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto

The New York Times attests that the violinist Janine Jansen has “a kind of radiant modesty”, and indeed: even in moments of utmost virtuosity, her performances captivate with introspection and substance. This ability is particularly well demonstrated in Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, which, despite its fast yet expressive tempos, is always interspersed with subtle nuances. To bring the concert to a close, Paavo Järvi conducts Robert Schumann’s sonorous and exuberant »Rhenish« Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi

Janine Jansen

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Paavo Järvi conductor
Jean Sibelius composer
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer
Janine Jansen violin
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Robert Schumann composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy