Season opening 2020: Kirill Petrenko conducts Schoenberg and Brahms

The Berliner Philharmoniker’s opening concert of the 2020/21 season was awaited with particular excitement: on the one hand, it was the first time since the beginning of the corona pandemic that the orchestra was able to play in front of an audience, and on the other hand, chief conductor Kirill Petrenko was to play a work by Johannes Brahms with his orchestra for the first time. The Berliner Zeitung wrote about the performance of his Fourth Symphony: “The musicians play as if liberated, and you can hear: they have not forgotten anything in the past six months. The ending is triumphant.”

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy