Jakub Hrůša conducts Bruckner’s Fourth and a world premiere

11 Sep 2021

Berliner Philharmoniker
Jakub Hrůša

Andrew Watts, Tölzer Knabenchor

  • Olga Neuwirth
    Keyframes for a Hippogriff − Musical Calligrams in memoriam Hester Diamond, commissioned jointly by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, the New York Philharmonic, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and BBC Radio 3 (premiere) (33 min.)

    Andrew Watts countertenor, Tölzer Knabenchor, Michael Hofstetter chorus master, Gerhard Jacobs chorus master

  • Anton Bruckner
    Symphony No. 4 in E flat major “Romantic” (2nd version from 1878/1880) (70 min.)

  • free

    Jakub Hrůša in conversation with Václav Vonášek (28 min.)

When Jakub Hrůša last appeared with the Berliner Philharmoniker in December 2019, he presented a significant new discovery: the perfectly formed and dramatically captivating tone poem Mysterium času (Mystery of Time) by his unjustly forgotten compatriot Miloslav Kabeláč. The chief conductor of the Bamberg Symphony for many years now turns to Keyframes for a Hippogriff, a world premiere by the Austrian composer Olga Neuwirth, whose humorous, demonic sound worlds have already caused a sensation in Philharmoniker concerts. 

The main symphonic work of the evening is Anton Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony, which the composer himself called “Romantic” in reference to Wagner’s “Romantic Opera” Lohengrin. In response to the public’s desire at the time for associative musical descriptions, Bruckner explained his Fourth with images “from ancient times”: the opening movement, for example, depicts the awakening of a medieval town with the “horn ... calling out the day from the town hall”. It also includes the magic of nature and the “feeling of happiness to be able to listen to such peaceful voices of nature in the forest”. Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony does indeed reflect with splendour and grandeur the natural mysticism and transcendence that Caspar David Friedrich’s paintings have become famous for depicting. Together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Jakub Hrůša presents his personal reading of the “Romantic” – one of the most popular symphonies by the master builder of sound, Bruckner.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

Try out the Digital Concert Hall!

In our free playlist, Kirill Petrenko conducts works including Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique. The best seat in the house is reserved just for you!

View our free playlist