Mariss Jansons conducts Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony

Mariss Jansons is one of the greatest Shostakovich conductors. His June 1992 performance of the Seventh Symphony documented here was only the second time the Berliner Philharmoniker had tackled this work. Shostakovich wrote the symphony in Leningrad in 1941 while it was under siege. Although it was officially interpreted as a celebration of Soviet fighting power, the work carries an unmistakable humanist message condemning war and violence.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons

Programme Guide

© 1992 TV Man Union, WOWOW, Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Mariss Jansons conductor
Dmitri Shostakovich composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy