Mariss Jansons and Truls Mørk

Dmitri Shostakovich reflects unsparingly on the horrors of the Stalin era with his Tenth Symphony. Specifically, the manic brutal second movement was conceived as a portrait of the dictator. The work is conducted at this concert by Mariss Jansons, whose musical origins were in the renowned Leningrad Shostakovich tradition; he was considered one of the best Shostakovich interpreters. We encounter soloist Truls Mørk in Henri Dutilleux’s yearning cello concerto.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Mariss Jansons

Truls Mørk

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy