Saint-Saëns’s “Organ Symphony” and Respighi’s “Fontane di Roma”

Camille Saint-Saëns’s colourful, festive and sophisticated “Organ Symphony” surprises not only with its unusual use of the organ, but also with delicate sound textures. Kazuki Yamada conducts the work in his debut with the Philharmoniker; the organ is played by Sebastian Heindl. This is preceded by two musical water features: Respighi’s sparkling Fontane di Roma and Tōru Takemitsu’s mystical I Hear the Water Dreaming with principal flute Emmanuel Pahud.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kazuki Yamada

Emmanuel Pahud

Sebastian Heindl

© 2025 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Kazuki Yamada conductor
Ottorino Respighi composer
Tōru Takemitsu composer
Emmanuel Pahud flute
Camille Saint-Saëns composer
Sebastian Heindl organ

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy