Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket


Berliner Philharmoniker
Daniel Barenboim

Emmanuel Pahud, Nicolas Hodges

  • Richard Strauss
    Don Juan (00:20:05)

  • Elliott Carter
    Flute Concerto European Première (00:16:25)

    Emmanuel Pahud Flute

  • Elliott Carter
    Dialogues for piano and orchestra (00:16:10)

    Nicolas Hodges Piano

  • Richard Strauss
    Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks (00:20:31)

  • free

    Emmanuel Pahud in conversation with Lydia Rilling (00:16:45)

It takes some believing: this man celebrated his 100th birthday last December – and he is still composing! Elliott Carter is undoubtedly one of the most outstanding composers from the United States of America. Hardly surprising that Daniel Barenboim, who is known to be one of the greatest admirers of Carter’s music, fell for two of his concertos when devising this programme. Particularly with two soloists at hand, who have already premiered Carter’s compositions. Nicolas Hodges gave the first performance of his piano concerto called Dialogues in 2004. Emmanuel Pahud, the Berliner Philharmoniker’s principal flutist, first played the flute concerto under Barenboim in Jerusalem in September 2008. Carter kept putting off a flute concerto for a long time, because he felt that the instrument could not produce the sharp attacks that he loves so much in his music. Finally he succumbed its agility and the sheer beauty of its tone, and dedicated this concert to the wind instrument. Two additional works figure as the corresponding antipodes of the evening, by the master of instrumentation, who inspired Carter as he did many others: Richard Strauss.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free