Claudio Abbado conducts Beethoven and Mendelssohn

Claudio Abbado conducts works here that captivate with powerful choral singing and unusual forms: Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy with Maurizio Pollini at the piano, followed by Mendelssohn’s Second Symphony known as Lobgesang. Although both works are widely known, they are rarely performed together.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Maurizio Pollini

Swedish Radio Choir

Eric Ericson Chamber Choir

Programme Guide

© 2002 EuroArts Music International


Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Maurizio Pollini piano
Karita Mattila soprano
Lioba Braun contralto
Felix Mendelssohn composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy