Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Fourth Symphony

The sound of sleigh-bells at the beginning make it clear from the outset: Mahler’s Fourth Symphony does not want to show off, but to take us to a magical kingdom. Mahler himself said, “It is the serenity of a higher, unknown world”, which, as he adds, “holds something gruesome and ghastly for us”. In this concert, Simon Rattle combined the work with Stravinsky’s graceful ballet music Apollon musagète.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Christine Schäfer

Sir Simon Rattle

Christine Schäfer

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Christine Schäfer soprano
Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Igor Stravinsky composer
Gustav Mahler composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy