Berliner Philharmoniker
Zubin Mehta

Lioba Braun

  • Gustav Mahler
    Symphony No. 3 (01:38:00)

The natural philosophers of the 19th century would have adored this work. As overwhelming as Gustav Mahler’s Third Symphony is in its dimensions, as astounding it is in expressing the primordial experience of nature, which this piece focuses on. Perhaps it is not even going too far to describe the work itself as a natural phenomenon, one that widens the scope of the symphony by expanding its forms. Zubin Mehta stands on the Philharmoniker’s rostrum, a conductor with one of the longest affiliations with the orchestra. The team also includes other guests familiar to Scharoun’s concert hall: the alto Lioba Braun as well as the Rundfunkchor Berlin and the Tölzer Knabenchor.