Sir Simon Rattle conducts Schumann and Lachenmann

During his Berlin years, the adventurous exploration of contemporary music was as important to Simon Rattle as work on the traditional repertoire. This double focus also characterises this evening with Helmut Lachenmann’s My Melodies for eight horns, in which the solo instruments reveal many surprising tonal facets. The finale of the concert is Schumann’s Second Symphony, with an exuberance which repeatedly borders on mania.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Helmut Lachenmann composer
Stefan Dohr Horn
Stefan de Leval Jezierski Horn
Georg Schreckenberger Horn
Sarah Willis Horn
Andrej Žust Horn
Klaus Wallendorf Horn
Marie-Luise Neunecker horn
Robert Schumann composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy