Michael Sanderling and Bruno Delepelaire

Joseph Haydn’s Second Cello Concerto is one of the most important works of Viennese Classicism. Its warm, melodious solo part is captivating, excitingly alternating between melancholy and cheerfulness. At this concert it is played by Bruno Delepelaire, first principal cellist of the Berliner Philharmoniker. At his debut with the Philharmoniker, Michael Sanderling also conducts Shostakovich’s Leningrad Symphony: a nightmarishly brutal panorama of the Second World War.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Michael Sanderling

Bruno Delepelaire

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Michael Sanderling conductor
Joseph Haydn composer
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Benjamin Britten composer
Dmitri Shostakovich composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy