Inaugural concert: Kirill Petrenko conducts Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Finally the time has come! This evening, Kirill Petrenko will stand before the Berliner Philharmoniker as their new chief conductor for the first time. It is a spectacular season opening concert with Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony whose overwhelmingly joyful finale is perfect for the festive occasion. The concert also presents – in both Beethoven’s Symphony and Berg’s expressive Lulu Suite – the soprano Marlis Petersen as Artist in Residence of the new 2019/20 season.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Marlis Petersen

Elisabeth Kulman

Benjamin Bruns

Kwangchul Youn

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Alban Berg composer
Marlis Petersen soprano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Elisabeth Kulman mezzo-soprano
Benjamin Bruns tenor
Kwangchul Youn bass
Rundfunkchor Berlin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy