Santtu-Matias Rouvali conducts Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony

“What I particularly love about Prokofiev’s music is its surprising harmonies,” says Santtu-Matias Rouvali, principal conductor of London’s Philharmonia Orchestra. Here he conducts Sergei Prokofiev’s lushly orchestrated Fifth Symphony, written in the last years of the Second World War. In the slow movement, the conductor detects a “scene from a horror film”. The programme also includes Helix by Composer in Residence Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor
Esa-Pekka Salonen composer, conductor
Sergei Prokofiev composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy