Alan Gilbert and Joshua Bell

Alan Gilbert presents three 20th-century works that confront the music of the past. Boris Blacher takes one of the most famous themes from the violin literature as the point of departure for his jazzy Paganini Variations. Samuel Barber revitalizes the late Romantic violin concerto with distinctive colours, heard here with Joshua Bell. Henri Dutilleux’s Second Symphony completes the programme: a Baroque concerto grosso in the guise of Modernism.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert

Joshua Bell

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Alan Gilbert conductor
Boris Blacher composer
Samuel Barber composer
Joshua Bell violin
George Gershwin composer
Henri Dutilleux composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy