Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket


Berliner Philharmoniker
Krzysztof Urbański

Sol Gabetta

  • Bedřich Smetana
    "River Moldau" & "Šárka" from "Má Vlast" (My Country) (00:24:45)

  • Bohuslav Martinů
    Cello Concerto No. 1 in D major (00:30:28)

    Sol Gabetta Cello

  • Antonín Dvořák
    Symphony No. 7 in D minor (00:43:55)

  • free

    Sol Gabetta in conversation with Stephan Koncz (00:17:41)

  • free

    Krzysztof Urbański in conversation with Krzysztof Polonek (00:14:27)

Two young artists are making their Berliner Philharmoniker debut at this concert: the Argentine-French cellist Sol Gabetta and the Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbański. Sol Gabetta began her international career in 2004 as a prize-winner in the Crédit Suisse Young Artists Award. She excites audiences wherever she appears with the energy, passion yet unaffectedness of her playing.

Krzysztof Urbański possesses both spirit and style, and has been acclaimed by the press as the most promising of the new generation of Polish conductors. Principal conductor of the Indianapolis and Trondheim Symphony orchestras, Urbański is an enthusiastic champion of his homeland’s music. For this concert, however, he has chosen works by Czech composers. Born in 1824, Bedřich Smetana is considered the founder of the Czech national style, who succeeded in achieving a unique synthesis between art music and folk elements. In his beloved orchestral cycle Má vlast (My Homeland), he created stirring musical portraits of his country’s natural beauty (The Moldau) and its legends (Šárka).

Antonín Dvořák, 17 years his junior, continued along Smetana’s musical path, but in his often sombre and moody Seventh Symphony, composed for England, Dvořák allows himself few reminiscences of the Bohemian idiom. Bohuslav Martinů’s Cello Concerto No. 1, on the other hand, is a happy marriage of Czech folk music with 20th-century musical language.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free