Tugan Sokhiev and Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Although French music often comes across as rather fragile, there are also powerful counterexamples. Thus, César Franck’s D minor Symphony and Gabriel Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande radiate – besides French flair – a Beethovenian will to find the right form. Maurice Ravel, in contrast, strikes a crisp, jazzy tone in the Finale of his G major piano concerto, as one might more readily expect from Gershwin. Tugan Sokhiev conducts; at the piano is Jean-Yves Thibaudet.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev

Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Tugan Sokhiev conductor
Gabriel Fauré composer
Maurice Ravel composer
Jean-Yves Thibaudet piano
César Franck composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy