Matthias Pintscher conducts Ligeti, Zimmermann and Martinů

György Ligeti was inspired by the Catholic requiem mass to write one of the great choral works of the 20th century. His Requiem features an enthralling tonal language – performed here with Matthias Pintscher. And both Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Musique pour les soupers du Roi Ubu and Bohuslav Martinů’s Viola Concerto (soloist: Amihai Grosz) make hidden references to requiem settings by other composers.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Matthias Pintscher

Amihai Grosz

Makeda Monnet

Virpi Räisänen

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Matthias Pintscher Composer, conductor
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer
Bohuslav Martinů composer
Amihai Grosz viola
Noah Bendix-Balgley Violin, composer
György Ligeti composer
Rundfunkchor Berlin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy