Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket


Berliner Philharmoniker
Asher Fisch

Daniel Barenboim

  • Karol Szymanowski
    Concert Overture in E major (00:14:50)

  • Frédéric Chopin
    Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor (00:36:10)

    Daniel Barenboim Piano

  • Witold Lutosławski
    Ouverture for strings (00:06:48)

  • Frédéric Chopin
    Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor (00:57:24)

    Daniel Barenboim Piano

  • free

    Daniel Barenboim and Asher Fisch in conversation with Stanley Dodds (00:13:57)

In the 45 years that Daniel Barenboim has worked with the Berliner Philharmoniker, he has performed countless major piano concertos – but so far not one by Chopin. This omission will be fully rectified at this concert, when as soloist he performs both of Chopin’s contributions to the genre in just one evening. The subtle yet extravagant outpourings of beauty of his music have made Chopin into Poland’s most popular composer. A further two composers represented this evening show, however, that he is no longer the sole embodiment of Polish music. Szymanowski made his breakthrough with a concert in 1906 which included the Concert Overture op. 12 – a work of rich chromaticism and effervescence reminiscent of Strauss’s Don Juan. Just as Szymanowski became the most prominent Polish composer of the early 20th century, Lutosławski was regarded as the seminal musical figure of his native land after the Second World War. The multifaceted composer is represented at this concert by his neoclassical Overture for Strings. Asher Fisch makes his début with the Berliner Philharmoniker this evening, a conductor who so far has made a name for himself primarily in the world’s opera houses, including the Vienna and Bavarian State Opera houses, the Royal Opera House, the Metropolitan Opera and La Scala, Milan.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free